So here I am sitting and wallowing in my own thoughts, with stacks of wedding magazines all around me. I mean, I know Chukie loves me but it’s been 6 years since we’ve been dating and he still hasn’t popped the question. All these years I was never bothered about it because I felt there was no need to rush but right now there’s a BIG reason to rush.

It was yesterday when Fiyin and I went to get the DNA result at the hospital, I thought I should use the opportunity to do some tests as I wasn’t feeling well, they ran a series of tests and it turns out I’m 6 weeks pregnant. I’m still a little confused on what to do and how to tell Chukie about it and the little statement Fiyin made about passing the night at Chukie‘s keeps ringing in my head. I mean what if Chukie is Mide‘s biological father.

And why dint anybody tell me about this earlier, neither Chukie nor Fiyin had mention that little detail for 4years, maybe they thought there’s nothing to it, I mean its really not a big deal, I trust my man, he wouldn’t….. and definitely not with Fiyin. Hmm, Fiyin!!! I really don’t seem to know her anymore. She has basically transformed from the sweet 17year old I met on my first day in school into this Slutty, desperate lady. I wonder what has….

(Phone rings…)

Me: Hellur! (In Medea‘s Voice)
Chukie (Over the phone): Hey Rabbit, wassup
Me: I dey o, feeling better now
Chukie: Ok, good to hear that. So do you think we can do dinner?
Me: Dinner, like a date?
Chukie: No, a month. Answer me jor.
Me: Hian! Let me check my schedule, I should be able to squeeze out some time for you
Chukie: Na you sabi, I’ll pick you at 7
Me: ok bye

Yippee!!! I ran into my room to look for what to wear. And I forgot about my worries…

At the restaurant, we had just finished eating and the waiter brought a bottle of wine. Chukie opened the wine bottle and poured into both glasses, he gave me mine and I gently put it down.

Chukie: (Nudging me) Yo! Why aren’t you drinking?
Me: I need to tell you something first
Chukie: o_O You look serious, is everything okay?
Me: I dunno mahn! Chukie we’ve been dating for about 6 years and I think by now
Chukie: (cuts in) Errr babe, I really think you should take that drink now
Me: Chukie, let me finish
Chukie: No, I don’t like how this conversation is going

(He dropped his wine glass, picked up mine and gulped it down and then opened his mouth to remove a 20-Carat Diamond ring and went down on his knees)

:O

Chukie: Will you marry me?
Me: I’m pregnant
Chukie: What?
Me: Yes
(Stands up)

Chukie: Wait, what?
Me: I’m pregnant Chukie, 6weeks, I found out yesterday
Chukie: OMG  (He lifted me up to hug me) So is that a yes?….

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Its 1.00 am and I still couldn’t sleep. I turned over to see Chukie, fast asleep. Here he is, the love of my life and as of 3hours ago, my fiancé (Yes, I said Yes). I’ve loved him unconditionally for 6years without ever doubting his love for me and I’ll do anything to keep that going. As much as logic suggests he is Mide‘s father, I don’t have all the facts and accusing him will be a really dumb thing to do not to mention that it could ruin everything we’ve built. The only reasonable thing is just to talk to Fiyin again.

At brunch:

Me: Fiyin, I think you know why I called you here today.
Fiyin: *sighs* Yes, I do and after thinking carefully about it, I think….. Oh My God :O Finally? (she took my hand to check my ring)
Me:Yes o, finally and guess what?
Fiyin: What?
Me: I’m pregnant
Fiyin: I’m so happy for you sweety (she hugged me)
Me: Yeah, thanks, so you were saying…
Fiyin: Okay, after thinking carefully about it and with what I just heard now I think the best thing is just to come clean to Olumide, Shina has been calling me asking about the result of the DNA test and I’ve been feeding him lies. And seriously I don’t think it’s fair to either Olumide or Mide and even you, I mean, if I was in your shoes, I would want to know the truth before getting married and we’ve come far too long for this to come between us. So I’m just gonna tell Olumide everything, and if possible, get a paternity test. No matter the outcome, I’ll bear the consequences.
Me: Awww…..that’s a brave thing dear and I’ll be with you every step of the way, okay? (We hugged)

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Olumide: So , let me get this straight, Mide, Ademide is your daughter, and you thought my cousin Shina Rambo was the father until yesterday and now you think it might be Chukie?
Fiyin: Yes *nods slowly*
Olumide: *scoffs* WT..? Ok Olumide calm down (Talking to himself) When did all this happen again?
Fiyin: About 4 years ago….
Olumide: Ookay…continue
Fiyin: It was on Susan’s birthday, July 27th. I was pretty drunk and I ended up at Chukie’s place. And why do I have to continue, this isn’t the reaction I was expecting.
Olumide: Hold on a second. Do you remember meeting someone at Chukie’s house that night?
Fiyin:  Not really….no
Olumide: OMG! You are the girl
Fiyin: What girl, what are you talking about?
Olumide: I remember July 27th because it was the anniversary of my mum’s death, I wasn’t feeling too good so Chukie asked me to come over to his house and we would go clubbing but on getting there that night, I met Tiwa so we couldn’t go. I decided to play games all through the night, it was around 5 that Tiwa left for the library and just minutes later a girl came in drunk, she said she wanted to collect the house keys but Tiwa was gone. Chukie asked her to sleep over because of the way she was staggering around. I noticed she was pretty high on something and was throwing herself all over Chukie that night
Fiyin: Oh my GOD!!!
Olumide: Chukie begged me to take care of her because he was mad at her behavior and I think we both got carried away.
Fiyin: Oh my GOD!!!
Olumide: The following morning, she was gone before I woke up and I never said anything to Chukie….
Fiyin: ….And we met again, 2 years later at Chukie’s Sister’s wedding without recognizing each other. OH MY GOD!!!
Olumide: (raises his voice) So you have a kid??? and the kid is my…

Okbye…..

